Sunday, January 15, 2012

[GEpH 005 CDM] Moon Wiring Club – Clutch It Like A Gonk + Gonk Edition CD (Album+ Mini-Album) 2011

Moon Wiring Club – Clutch It Like A Gonk: Gonk Edition
Label: Gecophonic Audio Systems – GEpH005CDM
Format: CD, Album+  Mini-Album
Country: UK
Released: 09 Dec 2011
Genre: Electronic
Style: Experimental

There is no tracklist on the covers or CD itself
"Keep your wits about you."

Clutch It Like A Gonk (Album)

1 Tricky Transmission 2:13
2 Elizabethan Automata 4:35
3 Infernal Devices 1:56
4 Gonk Operetta 3:23
5 Terrible Nuptials 1:07
6 Special Nougat 3:10
7 Churchyard Style 3:56
8 Garden Get-Together 1:33
9 Spellcasting Summat 4:19
10 Always A Party 2:18
11 Sentiant Topiary 1:51
12 Tudorbethan Jobbernowl 1:55
13 Dress To Decorate Summer Evenings 3:59
14 Darling Homunculus 3:49
15 Get There By Bus 3:53
16 Return To Ghost Area 2:49
17 On The Rooftops 3:41
18 You Dreamt Me Up 2:47
19 Strangewood Fair 4:24
20 That Foggy Feeling 3:17
21 A Trifle Sinister 1:36
22 Celestial Wolf Bounce 5:08

3" CD Bundle (Mini-Album)
1 Untitled 1:01
2 Untitled 1:06
3 Untitled 1:00
4 Untitled 1:03
5 Untitled 0:55
6 Untitled 0:58
7 Untitled 1:02
8 Untitled 0:59
9 Untitled 0:57
10 Untitled 0:50
11 Untitled 0:45
12 Untitled 1:07
13 Untitled 1:07
14 Untitled 0:55
15 Untitled 0:44
16 Untitled 0:58
17 Untitled 0:47
18 Untitled 0:55
19 Untitled 0:52
20 Untitled 0:50
21 Untitled 0:56
22 Untitled 1:01
Ian Hodgson returns with a brand new Moon Wiring Club album, bundled with a 3" cd of additional, beatless, hugely engrossing material. Despite using more or less the same setup (a Playstation 2 running "Music") - the production values have seen a big bump on "Clutch It Like A Gonk". There's still a nostalgic trace-echo permeating through the pores of these tracks (that is the essence of Hauntology, is it not?), but the tempo has been nudged, the percussion has become much more heavy-hitting and the whole thing is covered with a modern sheen (despite the typical, brilliantly unhinged retro-manic artwork) that's previously only been hinted at on MWC releases. "Churchyard Style" situates itself positively in between a halfstep bass drop and Araabmuzik style syncopation, with a cascading melody keeping everything properly unbalanced. "Spellcasting Summat" takes on a UKG template before rolling in with some dislodged vocal snippets and tripped-out effects, while "Get There By Bus" almost sounds like Shackleton on a Radiophonic jaunt. The real star of the show, however, is the 3" CD of miniatures that's included in this bundle. It's already been described as "sounding a bit like Boards Of Canada's short, beatless intervals" - and although there's certainly a similarly de-tuned and spectral quality to these pieces (there are 22 of them, clocking in at about a minute each) - there's a more unsettling essence to these tracks, reminding us of Position Normal and SAWII (especially on Track 8) - without really sounding like either. Of course, the package looks just sublime, with more of that intricate and super-distinctive MWC artwork, and although the whole project seems to have a kind of cultural pastiche at its core, we reckon that Ian Hodgson might really be onto something a bit new here - and as such we reckon this is easily his best set of tracks to date. Highly recommended!

No comments: