Saturday, August 7, 2010

(MP 300) Various - Clicks & Cuts 5.0 - Paradigm Shift CD (Compilation) 2010

Various - Clicks & Cuts 5.0 - Paradigm Shift
Label: Mille Plateaux
Catalog#: MP 300
Format: CD, Compilation, Digisleeve
Country: Germany
Released: 07 May 2010
Genre: Electronic
Style: Abstract, Glitch, IDM, Experimental, Ambient, Minimal
Notes: CD edition contains 2 bonus "Evac" tracks not available in the regular digital edition.
Comes in a nice 6-sided digisleeve.

1 Scattertape - Shelving A Tempered String (Intro) 1:00
2 Aoki Takamasa - RN4-09 (Short Version) 5:36
3 Wyatt Keusch - Object 02 (C&C Cut) 4:26
4 Loom - Isolex 03 4:10
5 Ametsub - Repeatedly (Video Edit) 4:41
6 Kiyo - Bear In. Warm-Noiz (C&C Fade) 3:32
7 Marow - e.coli 4:12
8 Manathol - BAKETO (C&C Cut) 4:18
9 Kabutogani - CXEMA 3:48
10 Nicolaus - Inner (C&C Fade) 5:28
11 Sifa Dias - Eitec Aa (C&C Fade) 3:14
12 Klive - Sweaty Psalms 4:22
13 Gultskra & Artikler - w 3:59
14 Yu Miyashita - Scrypt 3:43
15 Alinoe - Il (Outro) 1:24
16 Lodsb - Eve (CD Only Evac Track) 4:25
17 Rimacona - Message (CD Only Evac Track) 5:38

The influential electronic label MILLE PLATEAUX kickstarts it's newest chapter with it's flagship: A new edition of the legendary CLICKS & CUTS compilation series, that in fact named it's own genre. Volume 5.0 (subtitled "Paradigm Shift") features a totally new generation of young artists giving a 360 degree view on fresh glitch sounds: from Minimal Clicks to IDM-/Dub-ish tracks via Ambient and Sound Art to the 2 'Evac' tracks going to the Artcore and Organic extremes. Each song has it's own distinct character, and with a significantly higher amount in melodic and compository details than it's predecessors, this is probably the most musically substantial CLICKS & CUTS compilation ever.

Buy from


(PRE 029) Ous Mal - Nuojuva halava CD (Album) 2010

Ous Mal - Nuojuva halava
Label: Preservation
Catalog#: PRE029
Format: CD, Album
Country: Australia & New Zealand
Released: 25 May 2010
Genre: Electronic
Style: Experimental

1 Marraskuu
2 Parveke
3 Tuulensuoja
4 Viima
5 Vaskiset Kielet
6 Kumiseva
7 Kotiin
8 Merilaulu
9 Ystava
10 Talviaamu
11 Aamubussi

Here's something very special indeed from the Preservation label: Nuojuva Halava is the debut album proper from Finnish artist Ous Mal, aka 22-year-old Helsinki resident, Olli Aarni, who recently appeared on Under The Spire with his Viime Talvi release. As with that outing, this album features a scratchy old sound palette, seemingly made up of several layers of dust, cobwebs and crackling atmospherics. The fustiness makes for a beautiful production technique, but the music itself is often incredibly light and ebullient. For all the lo-fi trappings encasing the record, you're seldom starved of something beautiful at the heart of the mix. For instance, on opener 'Marraskuu' there's a lovely swell of orchestral melody cutting through the sliced-up, heavily looped debris, and as Nuojuva Halava unfolds you'll hear Aarni putting to good use a combination of samples and instrumentation (including the indigenous Finnish string instrument, the kantele), conjuring a sonic playground that's loaded with fantastical imagery and faux-nostalgia. By the time 'Vaskiset Kielet' arrives you might be a tad surprised to hear a warm, low-end beat plodding alongside the track's patchwork of decaying melodies, but eroded away rhythms are buried throughout the album's sequence and as the label is keen to point out, this is a collection of of works that finds "common ground between the dusty tenor of old-school hip hop cassettes and the fog of deep ambience". A very fine album indeed.

Buy from inertia-music